Dictionary > Cebidae


The family of new world monkeys consisting of nine subfamilies: alouattinae (howler monkeys), aotinae (night monkeys), atelinae (spider monkeys), callicebinae (titis), callimiconinae (goeldi’s marmosets), callitrichinae (marmosets), cebinae (capuchin monkeys), pithecinae (sakis), and saimirinae (squirrel monkeys). They inhabit the forests of south and central america, comprising the largest family of south american monkeys.

You will also like...

bryophyte - sporophyte and gametophyte
Meiosis and Alternation of Generations

Plants are characterized by having alternation of generations in their life cycles. This tutorial is a review of plant m..

Non-Mendelian Inheritance
Non-Mendelian Inheritance

In this tutorial, find out more about certain types of inheritance that does not follow the Mendelian inheritance patter..

Kidneys and Regulation of Water and Inorganic Ions

The kidneys are responsible for the regulation of water and inorganic ions. Read this tutorial to learn about the differ..

Plant Auxins
Plant Auxins – Phototropism & Geotropism

Plants produce hormones to regulate their growth. Auxins, for instance, influence plant growth. Know the role of auxin i..

Wart-like leaf galls on grape leaves
Plant Cell Defense

Plants protect themselves by releasing hydrogen peroxide to fight against fungal invasion. Another way is by secreting c..

Endemic Flora of New Zealand
New Zealand’s Unique Flora

If New Zealand has lots of unique animals, it's also got a whole lot of unique plants. Find out more about some of them,..