Dictionary > Ovarian cycle

Ovarian cycle

The cycle that depicts the changes in the ovarian follicle happening during a menstrual cycle, and is comprised of follicular phase, ovulation, and luteal phase
The menstrual cycle is the reproductive cycle of female humans and other animals, particularly certain primates (e.g. apes and monkeys), shrews, and bats.1 It is described through the ovarian cycle and the uterine cycle.
The ovarian cycle is comprised of phases characterized by the changes in the ovarian follicles. It is comprised of the phases: (1) follicular phase, (2) ovulation, and (3) luteal phase. The follicular phase is the first phase of the ovarian cycle. In this phase, a dominant ovarian follicle will reach maturity and contain the ovum. The ovum will then be released from the ruptured ovarian follicle into the oviduct in the next phase, which is the ovulation. In the last phase of the ovarian cycle, which is the luteal phase, the remaining parts of the dominant follicle will transform into the corpus luteum through the action of the luteinizing hormone as well as the follicle stimulating hormone. The formed corpus luteum, in turn, secretes progesterone that suppresses the production of the luteinizing hormone and follicle stimulating hormone, as well as making the endometrium receptive to blastocyst implantation when pregnancy occurs. In the absence of pregnancy, the corpus luteum goes through luteolysis, which occurs at the end of the luteal phase.
See also:


1 Lopez, K. H. (2013). Human Reproductive Biology. Academic Press. p. 53.

You will also like...

Ecological Research Measuring & Analysis
Ecological Research: Measuring & Analysis

This lesson is about the methods used for ecological research, such as quadrat and transect sampling, canopy fogging, an..

Golgi apparatus (3-D illustration)
Role of Golgi Apparatus & Endoplasmic Reticulum in Protein Synthesis

The endoplasmic reticulum and Golgi apparatus are the organelles involved in the translation step of protein synthesis a..

Regulation of Biological Systems
Regulation of Biological Systems

Regulation of Biological Systems tutorials are focused on the modulation of biological systems from cell to population l..

Plant Auxins
Plant Auxins – Phototropism & Geotropism

Plants produce hormones to regulate their growth. Auxins, for instance, influence plant growth. Know the role of auxin i..

An artistic depiction of a human embryo
Growth and Development of a Human Baby

Upon fertilization, a zygote forms and develops into an embryo. This tutorial elaborates on the growth and development f..

Disturbance on a still water
Abiotic Factors – Water Conditions

A still body of water may be disturbed by a variety of factors. One of them is wind. In fact, it is considered as the pr..